Department of Pharmacology

The Department of Pharmacology, Faculty of Pharmacy imparts academic training under undergraduate (D. Pharma., and B. Pharma), postgraduate (M. Pharma in Pharmacology and Pharmacy Practice) and doctoral (Pharmacology, Pharmacy Practice and Pharmaceutical Medicine) programmes. Pharmacy Practice programme is run in collaboration with HAH Centenary Hospital, Jamia Hamdard. PhD in Pharmaceutical Medicine is a unique program established in collaboration with Ranbaxy Laboratories where students are trained in the areas of clinical pharmacology and clinical evaluation of drugs. Presently, the Department has 11 faculty members actively involved in teaching and research at preclinical and molecular level.

The thrust areas of department are cardiovascular pharmacology (obesity, hypertension, cardiomyopathy myocardial infarction); neuropharmacology (epilepsy, depression, stroke, schizophrenia, cognition, drug abuse), endocrinology (diabetes and related metabolic disorders). Department is well equipped with advanced instrumentation facilities like UV spectrophotometer, Analgesiometer, Active Passive Avoidance Apparatus, Electroconvulsiometer, Non-invasive BP Recorder, Videopath Analyser, Color Doppler, Coagulation Analyser, Feeding Monitor etc. Currently department has on-going research grants worth more than two crores from various funding agencies DST, ICMR, UGC, CSIR, AICTE, AYUSH including UGC-SAP Phase II support of more than one crore rupees. The research scholars of the department have ongoing fellowships from CSIR-SRF, CCRAS-SRF, UGC-MANF, SAARC Scholarship scheme, and DST-Inspire fellowship.

Department has published number of research papers in various national and international journals with high impact factors like International Journal of Cardiology (IF 6.8), British Journal of Pharmacology (IF 4.9). Expert Opinion and Therapeutic Targets (IF 3.7), CNS Neuroscience and Therapeutics (IF 3.6), Neuroscience IF 3.2), European Journal of Pharmaceutical sciences (3.6), J Clinical Pharmacology (IF 3.0) to name a few. Faculty members of the department have received various awards and recognitions for their work like Nature’s Travel Grant on lipoprotein Metabolism, Shiksha Rattan Puraskar along with Certificate of Excellence by India International Friendship Society, Chandra Kanta Dandiya Prize for Best published paper in Pharmacology, Prof. Duggirala Visweshwaram and Prof. Sreemantula Satyanaryana award for best paper in Pharmacology, Uppsala Best Paper Awards by Society of Pharmacovigilance etc.

Faculty members of the department have presented their work in various national and international Conferences and Symposia like IUPHAR’s World Congress of Pharmacology, Germany 1998, USA 2006, Denmark 2010, Annual Meeting of European College of Neuropsychopharmacology France 2006, Malaysian Society of Physiology and Pharmacology Scientific Meeting Kuala Lumpur 2007, European Society of Cardiology Congress, France 2011, Frontiers in Cardiovascular Biology, UK, 2012, Annual Meeting of Neurotalk Singapore 2010, Third International Symposium on Pharmacology of Natural Products’ (FAPRONATURA 2012) held at Havana, Cuba, IBRO World Congress of Neuroscience 2007, Australia etc.